Managing Team Members

This article explains how to Add, Edit, and Archive/Unarchive team members. It also covers some common questions about managing team members.

Adding, Editing, and Archiving Team Members is all done from the Team page.  

Adding New Team Members

To add a new Team Member to ZoomShift go to the Team Page and click +New in the upper right. 

A box like this will pop open where you can enter the Team Member's information. 

The view up above is the Profile section of this box. This is where you enter basic information for your team member.

Email is required, however, phone number is not. 

Enter an Hourly Wage for this Team Member, and every time you schedule a shift for them this wage will automatically be used to calculate totals. It will also be used for timesheets and therefore payroll. 

You may enter a Time Clock Pin here, if you intend on using the Kiosk Time Clock. 

Send Invite: You can choose to send this Team Member an invite to ZoomShift right when you create them, or toggle this off, and wait to invite them until you are ready. 

The Positions/Locations section of the New Team Member Box looks like this. 

Positions: This is where you note what position(s) this Team Member can work from the dropdown. (Position options for Team Members are managed from Settings>Positions)

Locations: This is where you note what Location(s) this Team Member can work from the dropdown. (Location options for Team Members are managed from Settings>Locations)

The Permissions section of the New Team Member Box looks like this. 

Role: The role you provide to a team member determines what they can see and do within ZoomShift. See the chart below regarding what each role can do. (Learn more about Roles & Permissions Here)

Visible on Schedule/Attendance Views: Toggle this on if this Team Member will be listed on the schedule and will have shifts. Toggle this off, if this team member will not be scheduled, and therefore, does not need to be visible on the schedule. (This is typically turned off for admin staff who are only utilizing ZoomShift for scheduling and payroll purposes)

Billing Liaison: This can only be turned on if the team member role is listed as a manager. This allows the team member to be able to view and edit ZoomShift account and subscription settings. This means they can see invoices, as well as change account information. (The Owner of the account is the only one with understood access to ZoomShift account info). 

Inviting Team Members

If you chose to not invite a team member right when you created them, you can still go back and invite them later. When you go to the team page you will see something like the box below. Next to each team member will be a Status. 

Invite Pending: You have already sent them an invite to join your organization on ZoomShift, however, they have not yet registered.

Invite Accepted:  They received their invite to ZoomShift, and have registered with your organization. 

Not Invited: They have not yet been sent an invitation to join your organization on ZoomShift.

To invite any Team Members who are listed as Not Invited click the Invite button in the upper right. 

When you do this a box will open with a list of Team Members who have not yet been invited. 

Put a check next to each team member you want to invite and click Send Email Invites. 

Editing Team Members

You may at some point need to edit team member information for one of your Team Members, whether it is to adjust a wage, or their roles/permissions. You can do this by clicking on the Team Member you want to edit on the Team Page. Simply change what you need to and click Save. 

Archiving Team Members

Archiving a Team Member means that you are rendering them inactive permanently or temporarily. No matter how long you want to keep them Archived for, they will no longer be able to log in and see the organization while they are listed as Archived. This is a great option for Team Members who no longer work for you, as well as for a seasonal employee, or a student who only works breaks and summer.

You can Archive a Team Member by locating them on the Team page and clicking their name. When you do this a box will pop up with their profile information and permissions you have entered. At the bottom of the box there is the option to Archive. 

Click that, and they will immediately be moved to the Archived section of your Team Page. 

*You can toggle between Archived and Active Team Member pages by using the options in the upper left of the Team Page. 

Common Questions:

Do I need to pay for Archived Employees?

No. When a Team Member is archived you will no longer need to pay for them. Simply Archive them, and then go to Settings>Update subscription to decrease your Team Member Spots. This will ensure you will not continue to pay for more active employees than you now have. 

Isn't it best to Delete employees who no longer work for me? 

Not necessarily, any historical information/records for them are saved within your organization while they are archived, however, if you delete them you will no longer have access to any of this data. Also, rest assured, the Team member you archive will have no more access to your organization than they would have if they were deleted. 

How do I delete a Team Member?  

To Delete a team member you will need to Archive them first, then you can Delete them by going to the Archived page and clicking their name. The option to Delete is at the bottom. (Please make sure you have all of their historical information that you need downloaded prior to this, as this is a permanent decision and once it is done you cannot reverse it.)

Unarchiving Team Members

If you need to unarchive a Team Member and make them active again, you can do so by going to the Team page and clicking Archived in the upper left. 

This will open a page with all archived Team Members. Simply click the archived Team Member that you want to unarchive. A box will then pop open with the option to Unarchive at the bottom. 

Click Unarchive, and that Team Member will immediately become active again. 

Who can View & Manage Team Members

Only Manager level Team Members can manage Team Members. Supervisor and Employee level Team Members can only view basic information dependent on your organizational settings Settings>Formatting & Privacy.

If you didn't find the answers you were looking for in this article, please reach out to Support for further assistance. 

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us